The Power of Conversation with Neighbors

JLK
3 min readJun 3, 2023

Visiting with neighbors lifts me up, and reminds me to be social more often

This image was created with the assistance of DALL·E 2

As a full time work-from-home software engineer, sometimes I can get stuck in my own head. Sometimes, I need to be reminded that there is an outside world that I can go be part of.

Yesterday, when I got done working from my home office, I stepped outside to go on a short walk. As soon as I stepped outside, I was greeted by my next door neighbor from across the fence that runs between our yards.

My neighbor, Jackson, invited me over to have a beer in his backyard, with him and his wife Sarah. A rare extension of hospitality, since Jackson and I are not close friends, but nonetheless, a welcomed invitation that I accepted.

As I crossed through the gate of the fence between our yards, it’s almost as if I stepped into an entire other world, another dimension of space and time. I was no longer on my property. I was no longer separated from my neighbor and his wife. As soon as I crossed the threshold of that fence, I became happier, and felt more connected to the world.

Jackson, Sarah and I had some beers, relaxed outside on their newly created back yard patio (Jackson had been working on this patio for months, and finally had completed it).

--

--

JLK

Dad & technolgist who likes to write about work, money, and life.